Gold Medal of Spanish architecture 2016; Spanish Architecture Prize, 2005, Andalucía Architecture Prize, 2007; Arpafil Prize (Guadalajara, Mexico), 2006; Great Prize of the Buenos Aires international Biennale, 2011; Honorary member of the American Institute of Architects, AIA 2014.


His works have been awarded with numerous prizes, among which are the Award of the Year of the Grands Prix du Design Canada 2021, ArchDaily Building of the year Award 2018, The Plan Award 2015, International Architecture Prizes The Chicago Athenaeum Museum in 2015 and 2018, Best Architects 16 2015, Ibero-American Biennale Prize 2014, Palmares Architecture Aluminium Technal 2013, NAN Architecture Award 2011-2014-2016 and 2018, the International Award Trophée Archizinc 2010, the European Prize Ugo Rivolta 2008, ASCER Prize 2006, Museum Image 2004, Il Princippe e l’Architetto Award 2003, the C.E.O.E. Foundation Prize in 2001, the Architecti Centro Cultural de Belem Award 1994 or the Costrumat Prize in 1989.


He has taken part in multiple exhibitions among which are the Venice Biennale 1980 and 2004, the Milan Triennale 1988, and some others in significant cultural institutions as the Accademia di Francia a Roma 1989, the Georges Pompidou Center in Paris in 1990, The Art Institute of Chicago 1992, The Museum of Modern Art New York 2006, RIBA London in 2007, DOMUSae in Madrid 2010, the BIAU of Rosario, Argentina 2014, The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design 2016 and 2018, Instituto Cervantes Frankfurt 2012, Pallazo della Gran Guardia Padova 2013; the monographic exhibitions "GVC" in Havana 1999, Syracuse 2001, the Real Alcázar of Seville 2008, Buenos Aires 2011, Valencia 2011, and in the following Italian cities: Reggio Calabria 1999, Bologna 2002, Palermo 2002, Venice 2006, Ravenna 2007, as well as in most of the Spanish Architects' Associations.

His most outstanding works are the Cultural Centre Caixaforum in Seville (2017), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Luxembourg), Seville’s Congress Centre (2012), several social housing in Madrid (2012), Rota (1998) and Seville (1987). The complete renovation of San Telmo’s Palace in Seville to host the Andalusian region Presidency (2010), the national museum of underwater archaeology in Cartagena, Spain (2008), the townhall of Tomares, Seville (2008); Vigo’s waterfront (2004), the Illustration museum in Valencia (Spain), the Galata Museum (sea museum) in Genoa, Italy (2001) and the Navigation Pavillion for the 1992 International exhibition, including its renovation and adaptation to new uses in 2011.

He has taught Projects in the University of Seville (1980-1987), he has been Visiting Professor at the Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism of Buenos Aires (1993), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1995-1996-1997), School of Architecture of Navarra (1998 and 2021), Syracuse University School of Architecture, New York (2001), Faculty of Architecture of the University of Bologna (2002-2003), Faculty of Architecture of Venice (2005-2006-2007-2013 and 2020), Academy of Architecture of the University of Italian Switzerland in Mendrisio (2007-2008-2009 and 2010) and Visiting Scholar in the Getty Centre in L.A. Currently, he is honorary professor in the University of Seville, where he directs the Catedra Blanca Project Unit.

He is the author of the publications “Cien edificios de Sevilla” (1986), “Guía de arquitectura de Sevilla” (1992) and “Plazas de Toros” (1993, with Díaz Recasens), all published by the Junta de Andalucía. As scientific director of the publishing house Tanais and in collaboration with the Ministry of Public Works, he has launched two collections on contemporary architecture in Spain and Latin America.

source: Guillermo Vázquez Consuegra